Philippine Peso Coins and Banknotes

Philippine Coins and Banknotes

20 Peso Bill - New Design Series

Twenty Piso Banknote
New Design Series

Obverse: Manuel Quezon, Coat-of-arms of the Commonwealth, Wikang Pambansa, Saligang Batas 1935, Central Bank Seal
Reverse: Malacañan Palace beside the Pasig River "Palasyo ng Malakanyang"

Predominant color:
Security thread: 0.75 mm embedded broken gold colored plastic

Width: 66mm
Thickness: 100-118 microns
Material: 10% linen, 90% cotton

Security Features: security thread, red & blue visible fibers, fluorescent printing

"Republika ng Pilipinas", "Dalawampung Piso", "Ang salaping ito ay bayarin ng Bangko Sentral at pananagutan ng Republika ng Pilipinas"

Manuel L. Quezon was the first president of the Commonwealth of the Philippines. At the right side of the banknote are the coat-of-arms of the Commonwealth, and two of Quezon's notable accomplishments. The first is Wikang Pambansa, which is Tagalog for "national language". In 1937, the National Language Institute was founded to establish a single national language for the Philippines. This eventually became the Filipino language, which is largely based on Tagalog. The second was the Saligang Batas 1935 or the 1935 Constitution of the Philippines. This was the first real constitution that was nationally effected and large parts of it survive in the current constitution.

The Malacañan Palace at the reverse is, more popularly known as Malacañang Palace, the residence of the President of the Philippines, along the banks of the Pasig River. Quezon was the first Philippine president to live in the Palace.

No comments: