Philippine Peso Coins and Banknotes

Philippine Coins and Banknotes

The BSP Logo

UPDATE: Check out the New BSP logo

The logo of the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) adorns the reverse of all (except the 5-sentimo) coins of the New BSP Series. It is also featured in banknotes printed since 1993.

The BSP seal is a composite of the Filipino flag, the risen sun and mountains framed by a wheel and ringed by the inscription, "THE BANGKO SENTRAL NG PILIPINAS."

The FLAG symbolizes the country and expresses the Filipino people's nationalism and unity.

The RISEN SUN signifies the bright future and renewed spirit of the nation.

The MOUNTAINS represent stability and the WHEEL signifies movement and industry, the key to the nation's economic progress.

About the Bangko Sentral

The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) is the central bank of the Republic of the Philippines. It was established on 3 July 1993 pursuant to the provisions of the 1987 Philippine Constitution and the New Central Bank Act of 1993. The BSP took over from the Central Bank of Philippines, which was established on 3 January 1949, as the country’s central monetary authority. The BSP enjoys fiscal and administrative autonomy from the National Government in the pursuit of its mandated responsibilities.

No comments: